Brook

Doan Brook

A couple of days ago, I stumbled upon a wonderful link for some creative inspiration — Advice and sage wisdom from top designers on creativity. Their words and images are excellent, and include such deep thoughts as “Finish what you start: It may seem insignificant, but it is very important that you do it,” “Believe in the marks that you will make,” and “If in doubt, make tea.” Just perfect!

(As an aside, I use the phrase “stumbled upon” to mean “happened to find,” not StumbleUpon. I know, it is really quite shocking that some phrases existed before the internet, but that’s beside the point…)

The blip of creativity that inspired me yesterday was the eighth one down, “You have to leave your room to get there.” Comfy as it is to snuggle up in sweats with a puppy and some tea, that’s not really furthering any of my life goals, the least of which being this photography project I’ve started. And so, bundled up, I braved the outside world to get a couple of shots. This one comes from Doan Brook, near the Shaker Lakes Park a mile or so from where I live. The contrast between the near-black water and still-fresh snow combined with a touch of fog was lovely, if not a little eerie. Meaning creepy, not the lake. Did I mention the book I’m reading is about language?

Cheers!

