Sunrise

Sunrise, Sunrise

The last time I paused to watch the sun rise, I did so from atop Mt. Fuji after hiking all night with a couple of Japanese men I met there, whose conversations with me throughout the whole ordeal sounded a little something like this:

Me: breathing heavily, totally exhausted

J’s: “Ok?”

Me: “Ok. 有り難う.”

Repeat.

They spoke no real English, and I spoke no real Japanese, but it’s just amazing how far you can get with the simple words 有り難う, or Thank you. Exhausting, freezing, and awful as climbing the mountain felt, watching the sun glowing as it slowly lifted through the layers and layers of clouds below with my new Japanese friends was one of the most magical experiences of my life.

I really ought to do this more often. Sunrises are such a wonderful gift from nature, it is a shame not to appreciate them fully. Let’s consider this my dear 有り難う to nature.

Cheers!

